CASTROL Toyota Racing Series

Designed to develop and nurture the next generation of world class drivers, The Castrol Toyota Racing Series is independently organised by MotorSport New Zealand championship with technical support and backing from Toyota New Zealand Limited.
Drivers in TRS compete for every major title and trophy in the sport attracting Premier Gold Star status and the New Zealand Grand Prix title, which along with Macau are the only FIA-sanctioned Grand Prix race events outside of Formula One.

International drivers are provided with an opportunity to renew their craft during the northern hemisphere winter, while New Zealand’s young talent gain invaluable experience on home soil training and competing against world class talent.



With 5 qualifying sessions, 10 race starts and some extra testing sessions, TRS offers the equivalent of half a season of a European championship in just 5 weeks!



of track time over 5 weeks.

Typical Schedule

The first four races follow a similar pattern in terms of sessions and timing:


10:30 Free Practice 1 (30′)

14:00 Free Practice 2 (30′)


10:30 Free Practice 3 (30′)

15:00 Qualifying Session 1 (15′)


10:00 Race 1 (70 km)

15:00 Race 2 (80 km)

The New Zealand Grand Prix

Since 2006 the race has run as part of the Toyota Racing Series, which has gained international prominence due to the championship being held over the Northern Hemisphere winter. This has resulted in many international drivers joining the championship in their traditional off-season. It is seen as a stepping stone to larger open-wheeled classes, such as Formula 3, and beyond. Drivers such as Daniil Kvyat, Alex Lynn and Lance Stroll have competed in this race and then gone on to compete as race or test drivers in Formula One.

Many Formula One Drivers and World Champions have won the New Zealand Grand Prix, including three-time champion Sir Jack Brabham, Sir Jackie Stewart, John Surtees, Stirling Moss, Bruce McLaren, Graham Hill, Keke Rosberg, and more recently Lance Stroll, Lando Norris and Le Mans 24h winner Earl Bamber.


13.00 Free Practice 1 (30′)

15.30 Free Practice 2 (30′)


10:30 Free Practice 3 (30′)

13.30 Free Practice 4 (30′)

15.30 Free Practice 5 (30′)


11.00 Qualifying Session 1 (15′)

15.00 Race 1 (15 to 20 laps)


09.00 Qualifying Session 2 (15”)
11.00 Race 2 (15 laps – marble draw reverse grid)
15.00 Race 3 (35 laps – New Zealand Grand Prix)